Let all that I am praise the Lord; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name. Psalm 103:1

The roller coaster of life.

Wow what a roller coaster life is.  One minute I’m thanking God for our safety in last weekends accident and the other I’m stressing out realizing the financial burden I have put on my husband and I.  I sit here as we speak awaiting a phone call from our insurance adjuster.  She is supposed to be calling us with an estimate on the damages of our car.  I don’t know which to hope for….a total loss so I can get a new car and get back to work….or it’s fixable and I have to wait for the car to be fixed before going back to work but I get my car back.

As I contemplate this I begin to wonder about how trivial my situation is to so many people at this moment.  Yes it’s a big deal to me but at the same time I have a friend whose 2 year old daughter is in the hospital and we are praying for her to regain function of her kidney’s so that she isn’t on dialysis for the rest of her life.  (Her name is Eliza, please keep her in your prayers!  We know that God can perform miracles.)  Isn’t it amazing how no matter what we are going through there is always someone in a worse situation than ours…but at the same time there is always someone in a better one.  We always feel we are either the one in between or the one that’s worse off.  We can never seem to feel like we are the one on top, at least not for very long.  Knowing me and how I react to everything, even if our car is totaled and I get a new car I’ll still feel like the one in between.  I might for a little bit, maybe a day, feel like the one on top but it won’t last long. 

It makes me wonder if God allows me to feel like this on purpose.  I think of Esther, now there’s a roller coaster.  She was the one on top…she was queen!  She may not have started out there but the roller coaster eventually stopped there.  But she couldn’t forget those worse off, her people.  God had put her in a position (on top) so that she could help those on the bottom. 

Maybe I don’t ever feel like I’m the one on top, at least not for very long, but I can help those on the bottom.  I can help them so that being on the bottom is only a temporary thing.   Even if I can’t do anything specific in their situation I can pray.  God has called us all to pray.  We are to pray for those one top and those on the bottom.  As you go about your day today think about that and say a prayer for 2 people….top and bottom.

Mel

Leave a comment

Tag Cloud